Skip to main content

The Wilton Park Advisory Council

WPAC supports Wilton Park programme development to ensure it meets the highest intellectual standards and maintains its reputation as a global centre of excellence.

Wilton Park-HiRes-May 17, 2019-030 2

Purpose of the Advisory Council

The Wilton Park Advisory Council (WPAC) is led by the Chair of the main Wilton Park Board. Its task is to support Wilton Park programme development and to ensure it meets the highest intellectual standards and maintains its reputation as a global centre of excellence.


The Council consists of a wide range of experienced individuals drawn from members of parliament, the academic world, the media, trade unions, business, non-governmental organisations and institutions concerned with international relations.

Members are appointed for three years with the possibility of a second three year term. Open advertisements are placed in the press to attract new WPAC members.

The appointments are made by a panel including the Chair of the Wilton Park Board, on the advice of the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO). Membership is not remunerated but reasonable travel and other expenses are reimbursed.


  • Advise the Chair and the Chief Executive on the strategic direction of the Wilton Park programme;
  • Provide practical experience, contacts and advice on partnerships with other organisations, including potential sources of intellectual support and revenue generation; and
  • Provide advice and challenge to the FCDO as necessary.
Individual members
  • Advise the Chair, the Chief Executive and the Programme Directors on issues relevant to the Advisory Council member’s experience and expertise;
  • Participate in appropriate conferences; and
  • Promote awareness and support for Wilton Park within their professional networks; assisting in the identification of speakers and participants for individual events and help identify sources of funding.

The Advisory Council meets formally once a year and as sub groups focused on specific issues or topics. Members are also expected to be available for individual discussions, attendance at conferences, and consultation by telephone.

Advisory Council members
  • The Rt Hon Baroness Gisela Stuart (Chair)
  • Paul Boateng, Chair, Water and Sanitation for the Urban Poor; Chancellor of the University of Greenwich; Vice President of the London Library and Trustee of The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award Foundation
  • Andy Burwell, CEO of Tivoli Associates, international relations advisory and private equity
  • Andreas Busch, Professor of Political Science and Political Economy, University of Göttingen and Fellow, Göttingen Academy of Sciences and Humanities
  • James Deane, James Deane, Co-Founder, International Fund for Public Interest Media and former Director of Policy and Research, BBC Media Action
  • Professor Alexander Evans OBE, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Gail Kent, Policy Director at Meta
  • Jane Kinninmont, Policy and Impact Director at the European Leadership Network
  • Lesley-Anne Long, President & CEO of GBCHealth
  • Anne McElvoy, Executive editor/head of podcasting at Politico. Broadcaster and columnist
  • Canon David Porter, Peacebuilding, conflict, faith and leadership consultant; Strategy Consultant to the Archbishop of Canterbury, part time
  • Catherine Royle, Political Advisor to the Commander at Joint Force Command Brunssum, NATO
  • Amy Schenk, Head of Stakeholder Engagement, British Embassy Washington
  • Shanker Singham, CEO of Competere Ltd
  • Ian Wiggins, Director of International Affairs for the Royal Society
Ex-officio members
  • Andrew Griffith MP, Conservative MP for Arundel and South Down, Economic Secretary to the Treasury
  • Tom Woods, Chairman, President, Woods International, LLC and Chair of the Wilton Park US Foundation

Want to find out more?

Sign up to our newsletter