Skip to content

MENA Climate Week 29-31 March 2022:

Implementing recommendations on Capacity Building for Climate Action

Join COP Catalyst online, during MENA Climate Week 29-31 March 2022 – Implementing recommendations on Capacity Building for Climate Action

We invite you to attend – in-person or online – our COP Catalyst Sessions at the inaugural MENA Regional Climate Week next week from Tuesday 29th to Thursday 31st March 2022.   These events continue the work of the COP Catalyst for Climate Action to press for transformational change in the way that capacity building and financial support for climate action is designed and implemented, so that all countries can meet Paris Agreement aspirations and no one is left behind.

Following the development of the recommendations for transforming capacity building to support climate action and the launch of a ‘Call to Action’,  the COP Catalyst will host 3 events during MENA Climate week focused on implementation of recommendations for:

  • Access to Finance: Tuesday 29 March, 2.15pm-3.45pm Gulf Standard Time/11.15am-12.45pm British Summer Time- to join virtually please use this link
    Programme

  • Adaptation: Wednesday 30 March, 11.30am-1.00pm Gulf Standard Time//8.30am-10.00am British Summer Time- to join virtually please use this link
    Programme

  • Transparency and Reporting: Thursday 31 March, 12.30pm-14.00pm Gulf Standard Time/9.30am-11.00am British Summer Time- to join virtually please use this link
    Programme

These events will be an opportunity to explore actions for implementation of the recommendations developed by the COP Catalyst Action Groups, to hear how MENA Countries and partners are making progress on capacity building, and to explore the challenges and barriers to implementation and to enhance understanding of capacity building needs and opportunities.

We will hear from speakers in person and online from the countries across the MENA region, the UK Presidency, incoming Egyptian Presidency, technical agencies, finance providers, academia and civil society.

As with all Wilton Park COP Catalyst events, our discussions will be interactive so participants will have the opportunity to bring interventions and engage in the discussion.

We look forward to your engagement in our sessions.  Your perspectives and engagement contribute to our efforts to transform capacity building to achieve critical climate goals.